Announcing the 2017 Media for a Just Society Awards Finalists

September 11, 2017 | by NCCD


NCCD is proud to announce this year’s finalists for the annual Media for a Just Society Awards. These awards are the only national recognition of media whose work furthers public understanding of criminal justice, juvenile justice, child welfare, and adult protection issues. The Media for a Just Society Awards celebrate stories that illustrate current realities or the promise of reform, especially those that help people understand the complex issues surrounding the nation’s social systems. Finalists were chosen from more than 150 nominations and submissions in six categories.

The 2017 finalists are:


Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy
Penguin Random House
Heather Ann Thompson

Crook County: Racism and Injustice in America’s Largest Criminal Court
Stanford Law Books
Nicole Gonzalez Van Cleve

Writing My Wrongs: Life, Death, and Redemption in an American Prison
Convergent Books
Shaka Senghor


Ava DuVernay

Milwaukee 53206
Transform Films Inc.
Keith McQuirter

OJ: Made in America
ESPN Films
Ezra Edelman


“Baby Doe”
The New Yorker
Jill Lepore

“Hard Time”
The Intercept
Lisa Armstrong

“Who Guards the Guardians?”
Texas Observer
Patrick Michels


“20 Years Later”
This American Life
Samantha Broun

“And Justice for Some”
Reveal: The Center for Investigative Reporting
Al Letson

“The Short, Wonderful, But Ultimately Tragic Life of Lena Bruce”
Phillip Martin


Beyond the Wall
Freedom Behind Bars Foundation
Jenny Phillips and Bestor Cram

On the Outs: Reentry for Inmates With Disabilities
AVID Prison Project
Jordan Melograna

“Policing the Police”
James Jacoby, Anya Bourg, and Jelani Cobb


“After Orange: Women and Reentry in New Haven”
Yale Daily News
Isabelle Taft

Crime and Punishment
Medill Justice Project
Yaqoob Qaseem, Kara Stevick, and Alyssa Wisnieski

Death Denied
Medill Justice Project
Fallon Schlossman

“Inmates Want Files to Prove Innocence. DA Can’t Find Them.”
City Limits
Stan Johnson, Brianna Lorenzana, Cristyn Mingo, Arlenis Pena, Rickie Quansah, Kayla Ray, Adaury Rodriguez, and Nickie Uwoghiren

“The Summer After Trayvon Martin”
Rookie Magazine
Jasmine Sanders