2018 Winners

2018 Media for a Just Society Award Winners

NCCD is pleased to congratulate the winners of the 2018 Media for a Just Society Awards. This year, more than 150 entries competed for recognition in the categories of book, film, print/online journalism, radio, TV/video, and youth media.

The winners are:

Susan BurtonBOOK

Becoming Ms. Burton: From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women
The New Press
Susan Burton and Cari Lynn


Matt RuskinFILM

Crown Heights
Matt Ruskin



“From Prison to PhD: The Redemption and Rejection of Michelle Jones”
The Marshall Project
Eli Hager

Shankar VedantamRADIO

“Radio Replay: Crime as a Disease”
Hidden Brain, NPR
Shankar Vedantam


Matthew O’NeillTV/VIDEO

“Life on Parole”
Matthew O’Neill


Nyal MueenuddinYOUTH MEDIA

“Break the Cycle: The Power of Food to Interrupt the Revolving Prison Door
Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies, University of
Nyal Mueenuddin

Past Winners

2017 Winners
2016 Winners
2015 Winners
2014 Winners
2013 Winners
2011 Winners
2010 Winners
2009 Winners
2008 Winners
2007 Winners
2006 Winners
2005 Winners
2004 Winners