2017 Media for a Just Society Award Winners

NCCD is pleased to congratulate the winners of the 2017 Media for a Just Society Awards. This year, more than 150 entries competed for recognition in the categories of book, film, print/online journalism, radio, TV/video, and youth media.

The winners are:

Heather Ann ThompsonBOOK

Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy
Heather Ann Thompson
Penguin Random House



Ava DuVernayFILM (a tie)

Ava DuVernay


Keith McQuirterFILM (a tie)

Milwaukee 53206
Keith McQuirter
Transform Films Inc.



“Baby Doe”
Jill Lepore
The New Yorker


Al LetsonRADIO

“And Justice for Some”
Al Letson
Reveal: Center for Investigative Reporting



James JacobyTV/VIDEO

“Policing the Police”
Jelani Cobb (left), James Jacoby, and Anya Bourg



Isabelle TaftYOUTH MEDIA

“After Orange”
Isabelle Taft
Yale Daily News


Past Winners

2016 Winners
2015 Winners
2014 Winners
2013 Winners
2011 Winners
2010 Winners
2009 Winners
2008 Winners
2007 Winners
2006 Winners
2005 Winners
2004 Winners