2016 Winners

2016 Media for a Just Society Award Winners

NCCD is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s Media for a Just Society Awards. This year, more than 150 entries competed for recognition in the categories of book, film, print/online journalism (longform and shortform), radio, TV/video, and youth media. This year’s winners were chosen by our accomplished panel of judges, which includes eminent professionals from the fields of journalism, film, television, social justice, and philanthropy. 

The winners are:


Bastards of the Reagan Era
Four Way Books
Reginald Dwayne Betts



Ryan BergBOOK

No House to Call My Home: Love, Family, and Other Transgressions
Nation Books
Ryan Berg


James RedfordFILM

Paper Tigers
KPJR Films
James Redford



”The Black Family in the Age of Mass Incarceration”
The Atlantic
Ta-Nehisi Coates



“How Mass Incarceration Creates ‘Million Dollar Blocks’ in Poor Neighborhoods”
The Washington Post
Emily Badger


Nikole Hannah-JonesRADIO

“The Problem We All Live With”
This American Life
Nikole Hannah-Jones
Chana Joffe-Walt


John RichieTV/VIDEO

Shell Shocked
America ReFramed
World Channel
John Richie


Soraya ShockleyYOUTH MEDIA

Unlocked: An Investigation Into Juvenile Incarceration and Its Alternatives
Youth Radio
Soraya Shockley
Brett Myers


Past Winners

2015 Winners
2014 Winners
2013 Winners
2011 Winners
2010 Winners
2009 Winners
2008 Winners
2007 Winners
2006 Winners
2005 Winners
2004 Winners