Veterans Day

November 9, 2023 | Evident Change

A red graphic that says "Happy Veterans Day, we honor those who served.

Evident Change is honoring Veterans Day, celebrated every year on November 11. This day is dedicated to individuals who have served in the U.S. military. Evident Change expresses our gratitude to veterans for their bravery and service.

HISTORICAL CONTEXT

Veterans Day, formerly known as Armistice Day, originated in 1919 as a recognition of the first anniversary of the end of World War I. November 11 was established as a legal holiday in the United States in 1938; in 1954, after World War II and the Korean War, the name was changed to Veterans Day. This was to honor veterans of all wars; notably, Veterans Day is inclusive of veterans of the Vietnam War, the Persian Gulf War, and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, who were previously marginalized in many ways for various reasons.

CALL TO ACTION

Beyond simply recognizing the contributions of veterans to our country, we should ensure their needs are prioritized, taking into account the complexities of race, ethnicity, gender, and other identities. The challenges that veterans face include but are not limited to navigating social systems, employment, and homelessness. Veterans returning home may also deal with psychological impacts; these can include post-traumatic stress disorder, anxiety, depression, and self-harm. As a community, we have an opportunity to learn about veterans and their needs so that we can provide support within and beyond social systems.

WAYS TO OBSERVE VETERANS DAY

Veterans Day Moment of Silence

Participate in the two-minute Veterans Day Moment of Silence at on November 11 at 3:11 p.m. ET (2:11 p.m. CT, 1:11 p.m. MT, 12:11 p.m. PT). This is a reminder that hostilities formally ended “at the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month” of 1918, in accordance with the armistice signed by representatives of Germany and the Entente between 5:12 and 5:20 that morning. (“At the 11th hour” refers to the passing of the 11th hour, or 11:00 a.m.)

Resources